Skip to Content

NC Chamber Names 98 Jobs Champions in Legislative Scorecard

How They Voted Publication Tracks Legislators’ Voting Record on Key Business Issues

RALEIGH, N.C. – The NC Chamber today released the 2019 edition of its annual legislative scorecard, How They Voted. How They Voted details lawmakers’ voting records on key bills identified as critical to preserving and enhancing a positive climate for business and job creation in North Carolina. With 98 Jobs Champions and 11 Jobs Advocates, this publication demonstrates that the statewide business community had another successful session at the North Carolina General Assembly.

“In an increasingly volatile political environment, it’s more important than ever that business leaders and job creators have the unbiased, objective facts about how their legislators performed when given the opportunity to stand up for them,” said Ray Starling, general counsel at the NC Chamber. “This legislative session saw a number of wins for growing North Carolina’s competitive business climate, strengthening our world-class workforce, and improving our state’s infrastructure networks—thanks to a dedicated group of lawmakers who fought for pro-jobs policies.”

How They Voted details voting percentages for legislators based solely on their voting and sponsorship/cosponsorship records on the bills identified by the NC Chamber team as critical to the statewide business community. Lawmakers who vote with the Jobs Agenda at least 80 percent of the time are named Jobs Champions. New this year, lawmakers who scored at least 70 percent and improved over their lifetime record by at least 10 percent were named Jobs Advocates.

You can read the full publication here.

Jobs Champions

Rep. Jay Adams
Rep. Dean Arp
Rep. Lisa Barnes
Rep. John Bell
Rep. Jamie Boles
Rep. William Brisson
Rep. Cecil Brockman
Rep. Dana Bumgardner
Rep. Jerry Carter
Rep. Debra Conrad
Rep. Kevin Corbin
Rep. Ted Davis
Rep. Jimmy Dixon
Rep. Josh Dobson
Rep. Jeffrey Elmore
Rep. John Faircloth
Rep. Elmer Floyd
Rep. John Fraley
Rep. Ed Goodwin
Rep. Charles Graham
Rep. Holly Grange
Rep. Destin Hall
Rep. Kyle Hall
Rep. Bobby Hanig
Rep. Jon Hardister
Rep. Kelly Hastings
Rep. D. Craig Horn
Rep. Julia Howard
Rep. Chris Humphrey
Rep. Howard Hunter
Rep. Pat Hurley
Rep. Frank Iler
Rep. Steve Jarvis
Rep. Jake Johnson
Rep. Linda Johnson
Rep. Brenden Jones
Rep. Perrin Jones, MD
Rep. Donny Lambeth
Rep. David Lewis
Rep. Pat McElraft
Rep. Chuck McGrady
Rep. Jeffrey McNeely
Rep. Allen McNeill
Rep. Tim Moore
Rep. Larry Potts
Rep. Michele Presnell
Rep. Billy Richardson
Rep. Dennis Riddell
Rep. David Rogers
Rep. Stephen Ross
Rep. Jason Saine
Rep. Wayne Sasser
Rep. John Sauls
Rep. Mitchell Setzer
Rep. Phil Shepard
Rep. Carson Smith
Rep. Sarah Stevens
Rep. Larry Strickland
Rep. John Szoka
Rep. John Torbett
Rep. Brian Turner
Rep. Harry Warren
Rep. Donna White
Rep. Michael Wray
Rep. Larry Yarborough
Rep. Lee Zachary
Sen. John Alexander
Sen. Ted Alexander
Sen. Deanna Ballard
Sen. Phil Berger
Sen. Danny Britt
Sen. Harry Brown
Sen. Rob Bryan
Sen. Jim Burgin
Sen. Ben Clark
Sen. Warren Daniel
Sen. Jim Davis
Sen. Chuck Edwards
Sen. Carl Ford
Sen. Eddie Gallimore
Sen. Rick Gunn
Sen. Kathy Harrington
Sen. Ralph Hise
Sen. Rick Horner
Sen. Brent Jackson
Sen. Todd Johnson
Sen. Joyce Krawiec
Sen. Paul Lowe
Sen. Tom McInnis
Sen. Paul Newton
Sen. Jim Perry
Sen. Bill Rabon
Sen. Norm Sanderson
Sen. Vickie Sawyer
Sen. Sam Searcy
Sen. Bob Steinburg
Sen. Jerry Tillman
Sen. Andy Wells

Jobs Advocates

Rep. John Ager
Rep. Carla D. Cunningham
Rep. Jean Farmer-Butterfield
Rep. Yvonne Lewis Holley
Rep. Graig R. Meyer
Rep. Garland E. Pierce
Rep. Joe Sam Queen
Rep. Amos L. Quick, III
Rep. Evelyn Terry
Sen. Dan Blue
Sen. Don Davis

About the NC Chamber:
The NC Chamber is the state’s driving force for business and exists to shape statewide public policy by initiating forward-thinking, market-driven change within the legislative, regulatory and political arenas, thereby making North Carolina a leading place to do business. For more information, visit